July 31, 2023 to August 4, 2023
Hilton York Hotel
Europe/London timezone

Direct reactions and spectroscopy with hydrogen targets: past 10 years at the RIBF and future prospects

Employment of the MINOS liquid-hydrogen target and vertex-tracking system with the DALI2 scintillation-based gamma-ray spectrometer and other systems at the RIBF has led to abundant exciting physics results. Highlights include the first spectroscopy of doubly magic nuclei, investigation of multi-neutron decays, and shell evolution along isotopic chains. Through these studies with direct reactions, our understanding of nuclear reaction mechanisms and nuclear structure has been furthered. 

The advances simultaneously open new physics questions and pave the way for novel experimental setups to address them. Through combining particle- and gamma-spectroscopy with a broad range of nuclear reactions new frontiers will be established in our understanding in the structure and reaction mechanisms. In this symposium, we will commemorate the past ten years of studies on direct reactions and spectroscopy of exotic nuclei with liquid-hydrogen targets at the RIBF and define a vision for the future.


Key topics

  • Shell migration at the neutron numbers N=32,34 around Ca
  • The island of inversion at the neutron number N=40
  • Shell structure around 78Ni isotope
  • Collectivity from Zn to Zr
  • Structure of halo nuclei
  • Shell evolution towards 28O isotope
  • Clustering and multi-neutron systems
  • Theoretical and experimental studies in the reaction mechanism
  • Development of new detection devices


Scientific Advisory Committee

  • Pieter Doornenbal (RIKEN)
  • Alexandre Obertelli (TU Darmstadt)
  • Tomohiro Uesaka (RIKEN)


Organising committee

  • Frank Browne (CERN)
  • Sidong Chen (University of York)
  • Martha Liliana Cortes (RIKEN)
  • Julian Kahlbow (MIT and Tel-Aviv University)
  • Yuki Kubota (RIKEN)
  • Hongna Liu (Beijing Normal University)
  • Clementine Santamaria (Morgan State University and MSU)
  • Junki Tanaka (RIKEN)
  • Ryo Taniuchi (University of York)
  • Zaihong Yang (Peking University)
  • Kazuki Yoshida (JAEA)




Hilton York Hotel
Hilton Hotel, 1 Tower Street, York Y01 9WD, United Kingdom
Go to map